NFL Pick’em Week 2

Overall Total

8-8 9-7 8-8
Andrew Jordan MGLS
CHI @ DAL DAL CHI CHI
BUF @ GB GB GB GB
PIT @ TEN TEN TEN PIT
MIA @ MIN MIA MIN MIA
ARI @ ATL ARI ATL ARI
BAL @ CIN CIN BAL BAL
KAN @ CLE KAN KAN KAN
PHI @ DET PHI PHI DET

TAM @ CAR

TAM

TAM TAM

STL @ OAK

STL

STL OAK

JAX @ SDG

SDG

SDG JAX

SEA @ DEN

DEN

DEN SEA

NWE @ NYJ

NWE

NWE NWE

HOU @ WAS

HOU

HOU WAS

NYG @ IND

IND

IND NYG

NOR @ SF

NOR

NOR NOR

Andrew: Have I mentioned how happy I am that its football season? I suppose there are a few upsets. Lets take a look.

For those of you that are new to this, and asking what MGLS is, that would be My Girlfriend’s Little Sister. She is 10. And likes to pick based on favorite city, team names, and this week at least, the team that won last week. I’m very excited for her to beat Mike Silver, who I think is a giant tool.

Titans over Steelers. Mostly, I hate the Steelers. Secondly, I was not impressed by them at all last week against a team that didn’t perform well.

The Dolphins go into Minnesota and manage to beat AP, Old Man Favre and Co. Favre gets rocked, a lot, and loses the ball, a lot. Dolphins manage one offensive TD that proves to be enough.

STL over OAKLAND! ok, maybe not. But earlier I said that StL would win its first 2 games. So far, i’m only half wrong.

Other news: Indy, Dallas, and San Diego redeem themselves….. Tampa Bay goes 2-0 for the first time since 2005, which is the last year they made the playoffs.. watch your back New Orleans.

Jordan: Sometime in the last month, I recorded my 365th straight day of participating in fantasy sports; I’ve played the major ones, but football, for good reason, is still the best-in-show. I love football and I love fantasy football; with those two things, life is good again.

Not a lot of surprises this week, so I’ll keep my commentary to those games on which Andrew and I differ.

CHI @ DAL: I want to say that Andrew’s pick was a homer pick, but, honestly, Dallas does look like the sure thing. That said, let me say this: In Mike Martz I trust. Cutler, his receivers, and running backs are going to have a banner year this year. And yes, I think that they will be able to stop the onslaught wrought them by Jason Garrett’s offense. Yes, the ‘Boys are so, so good, but I’m not at all convinced that the bandwagon has a driver, or that everyone is even on it.

MIA @ MIN: AP is All Day. He is every SINGLE down. And so is –for that matter– Brett Favre. I DO think that Brett gets injured this year, crushing MIN fans, making GB fans cheer, and ultimately ending his consecutive start record. But, in my estimation, it’s too early in the season for that. Though they’re good, the ‘Phins just aren’t good enough.

ARI @ ATL: Atlanta has two things that everyone should have, and three that everyone should at least consider: Matt Ryan, Roddy White, and Michael Turner. Those three should be able to best ARI, though I don’t think it will be easy. This will be a true slugfest— middle-weight style. Expect points, both real and fantasy, to be accrued in bunches.

10 Comments

Filed under Pick 'Em

10 responses to “NFL Pick’em Week 2

  1. Brian

    Jordan, you must be on crack if you think the think the bears have any chance of winning on the road against the cowboys. Martz’s system only works if you actually have an offensive line that can block.

    In one of my leagues I’m going up against a pretty stacked team, but I’m not too worried because I have Romo and Austin who are going to light up the Bears weak secondary.

  2. Andrew: nice brian. I couldnt agree more. Jordan wants to have Martz’s thin-lipped seemingly-confused babies. Remember that time when the Bears almost lost to the LIONS because of some miserable incomplete pass rule? The Cowboys have both of their missing O Linemen back, and will light up the Bears like a 3-pack a day smoker getting off an eight hour flight.

  3. Brian, I am currently enjoying my daylight libations, aka “coffee”. I’ve had a bit too much today, admittedly, so that’s jazzed me up considerably.

    I stand by Martz. And the Pretty Good Show on Turf.

    -Jordan

  4. Brian

    ha ha. The only upsets I like this week are miami and the jets. Miami is a underrated team and the vikings without rice just aren’t the same. Everyone is quick to jump of the jets bandwagon on back on to the pats, but I think Rex is going to have them ready even on a short week.

    This is a cool site, keep up the good work.

  5. It’s hard not to root for a personality like Ryan; he’s turned the NYJ into a team that is not only viable, but has Superbowl aspirations.

    Thanks for the compliments! If you don’t mind, please tell your friends or post a link somewhere. Interactivity is what we want.

    -Jordan

  6. Ryan

    Jets D vs. NE OR
    Chiefs D @ Cle?

  7. dinosaur

    i have two spots to fill at wr this week and four candidates please help me pick two. choices are percy harvin, devery henderson, michael crabtree, and legadu nanee…..please help im stumped….

    • Harvin is Questionable still.
      Henderson is good, but with 4 other good receivers that have as much chance as making plays.
      Crabtree did not impress last week at all.
      Naanee is fun to say. And actually showed up last week.

      I’m going to take Naanee and Harvin. If Harvin isnt healthy, I gamble with Henderson. Crabtree will be legit this season. Just not for a few more weeks.

      Thanks
      -andrew

Leave a Reply

